Website Manager

The DICK'S Sporting Goods PONY League World Series

PLWS Awards

Annually at the DICK'S Sporting Goods PONY League World Series, players, who excel on the field amongst the class of the best players in the world, receive awards for their accomplishments.

Wilson Sporting Goods Batting Champion

This award is presented to the “top hitter” at the DICK'S Sporting Goods PONY League World Series who meets the following criteria:

  • All World Series games are included
  • Players must have a minimum of ten plate appearances, not necessarily “at-bats”
  • Goes to the player with the best batting average
  • Tiebreaker: total bases

The 2019 Wilson Sporting Goods Batting Champion is Christian Gamboa from Brownsville, Texas. He finished the World Series with a batting average of .667, with two home runs and three RBI.
Recent Batting Champions

2018 -Rikendy Martinez, Yaguate, DR
2017 - Nicholas Popielarczyk, Washington, PA 
2016 - Jay Woolfolk, Chesterfield, VA
2015 - Chun En, Chinese Taipei
2014 - Heliot Ramos, Levittown, PR
2013 - Javier Lopez, Los Mochis, MX
2012 - Yu-Chuan Wang, Chinese Taipei
2011 - Ku-Fan Wang, Chinese Taipei
2010 - Ryan Hall, Chesterfield Co., VA
2009 - Luis Touron, Tamiami, FL
2008 - Henry Knez, Tamiami, FL
2007 - Jared Pinson, Kingwood, TX
2006 - Danny Leon, Simi Valley, CA
2005 - Miguel Pagan, Caguas, PR
2004 - Jarrett Didrick, East Cobb, GA
2003 - J.C. Rodriguez, New York, NY
2002 - Eddie Murray, Norwalk, CA
2001 - Sean Mitchell, Chesterfield Co., VA
2000 - Chris Atwell, Garland, TX

Easton Sports ERA Award

This award is presented to the “top pitcher” at the PONY League World Series who meets the following criteria:

  • All World Series games are included
  • Players must pitch a minimum of 5 innings
  • Goes to the pitcher with the lowest ERA
  • Tiebreakers: most wins, then fewest walks

The 2019 Easton Sports ERA Award winner is Edwin Cervantes from Guasave, Mexico. Cervantes pitched a perfect 0.00 ERA over 6.2 innings and had 11 strikeouts.

Recent ERA Award Winners

2018 - Sin-Jie Wu, Taipei County, CT
2017 - Justin Naylor, Washington, PA 
2016 - Tzu Wei, Chinese Taipei
2015- Cheng Chen, Chinese Taipei
2014 - Joey Jarneski, Hilo, HI
2013 - Luis Antonio Acosta, Los Mochis, MX
2012 - Jay Rohman, Long Beach, CA
2011 - Mason Bruce, Lafayette, IN
2010 - Michael Day, Chesterfield Co., VA
2009 - Joe Jimenez, Toa Baja, PR
2008 - Chase DeJong, Long Beach, CA
2007 - Anthony Stewart, Tujillo Alto, PR
2006 - Shota Suzuki, West Tokyo, Japan
2005 - Wu Huang, Chinese Taipei
2004 - Jake Davies, East Cobb, GA
2003 - Kyle Christensen, Lakewood, CA
2002 - Taylor McInnis, Port Neches, TX
2001 - Jarrod Wells, Washington, PA
2000 - Chris Durbin, West Covina, CA

John D. Voytek Memorial Award 

Every year since 1989, the Voytek family has presented an award to the leading hitter on the Washington, Pennsylvania entry in the PONY League World Series. The award is based on the same guidelines as the Batting Champion. John Voytek delivered two hits in the 1955 PONY World Series championship game victory. Each year, following Washington’s final game, Nathan Voytek, John’s son, former PLWS participant and umpire, and current member of the Board of Directors of Tournaments, Inc., presents the award, along with his mother Joan, to the host team’s leading hitter.

The 2019 John D. Voytek Memorial Award winner is Tyler Johnson. Johnson finished the World Series with a .500 batting average and collected three RBI.

Recent Voytek Memorial Award Winners

2018 - Ryan Silver
2017- Nicholas Popielarczyk 
2016 - Dalton Bedillion
2015 - Danny Boardley
2014 - Kyle Steele
2013 - Garret Briant
2012 - Evan McDaniel
2011 - Jonathan Spina
2010 - Mason Tillery
2009 - Corey Hunsberger
2008 - Zack Kovalak
2007 - Zack Barnes
2006 - Ross Songer
2005 - Evan Bulkowski
2004 - Alex Kazmierczak
2003 - Andrew Sweat
2002 - Eric Shargots
2001 - Jordan Linck
2000 - Tim DiSalvio

Contact Us

PO Box 1115 
Washington, Pennsylvania 15301 [email protected]
Copyright © 2021 Pony World Series  |  Privacy Statement |  Terms Of Use |  License Agreement |  Children's Privacy Policy  Login